One Quarter

tiny bookThe idea of writing a book scares me. So big. So many words. It’s like I have a writer’s form of agoraphobia. But here’s the rub– I have a story to share. Some characters to introduce to the world. How do I write the story without scaring myself? Without scarring myself?

Well, I don’t have to write the whole thing all at once. I don’t have to do it in a way that is too daunting. I can do it in baby steps. And to show that to myself, I will write a little book first. Oh no, not something with petty themes, mind you. I can take my big ideas and write them on small paper. Then it won’t seem so ominous.

It kind of started casually. I had an idea and jotted it down on a piece of scrap paper. Then I had another idea for the same story and wrote it on another piece of scrap paper. This continued to happen for a couple pages, and I came to an important realization–writing big on small paper wasn’t so scary after all. So, to give myself some more space (but not so much that it would frighten me), I grabbed a couple more pieces of scrap paper and stapled them to what I already had. A tiny book.

Now, I must tell you that I have a stack of scrap paper that is all the same size. Call it going green, but before an 8 1/2 x 11 piece of paper hits the trash at my house, I intercept it and, if it’s blank on one side, I cut it into quarters. The result? A stack of 4 1/2″ x 5 1/2″ paper that fits nicely in the basket on my writing desk. This is what I’ve been using to jot these notes for this “book.” Scary even saying it, but seeing a similar stack of “books” on the writing shelf in a kindergarten classroom, confirmed it was a brilliant idea. If a kindergartener isn’t afraid to write a book, I shouldn’t be either.

About amylynn714

A busy wife and mother pausing to ponder the beauty and complexity of life and share it with words.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Quarter

  1. leighcallen says:

    What genre ?? Leigh Website: leighcallenblog.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

